Outlook Magazine - Fall 2020

1990s Paul Nesja `90 won the cartoon caption contest in the March 16, 2020, issue of the New Yorker magazine. Carolyn Porter `91 was a 2019 featured speaker at TEDxMahtomedi, an annual event held under the aegis of the world-famous TED talks. Her talk was titled “The Unexpected Journey of a Passion Project.” Steve Kleist `93 is a lean value stream (technical) manager supporting 3M’s Latin America operations. Jay Henry `94 owns Hooligan’s Pub in Boise, Idaho. Dietrich Thompson `97 launched his latest book, “Joshua and the Amazing Christmas Village.” Alyssa Farrar `98 was promoted to vice president, human resource business partner at HSA Bank in Milwaukee. Tammy Zarecki Gorski `98 received her Ph.D. from Marian University in fall 2019. Her published dissertation is titled “The Intersection of Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs) and Mindset: Predictors of College Success in a Community College.” Craig Sandbulte `98 was appointed VP of quality and regulatory affairs at IntriCon Corp. in Arden Hills, Minn. Alexis Arnold `99 is running the Artless Bastard Gallery in downtown De Pere. The gallery hosts monthly art exhibits and a fine art gift shop .

2000s Arthur “Bill” Miller `02 received tenure and promotion to associate professor of art and design at UW-Whitewater. Jacob Ritchie `02 was named Hayward Foundation for Educational Enrichment 2020 Teacher of the Year. Pam Entorf `03 is program director of dental hygiene and dental assisting at Chippewa Valley Technical College, which has a fully operational clinic for low income patients. Kim Oppelt `03 received her Ed.D. in leadership from St. Mary’s University of Minnesota in January. Clifford Hentz `05, Carrie Hentz `06, Brett Jackson `07 and Joy Jackson `07 co-opened One Last Cast, a performance fishing apparel company. Katherine Paige Klein `04 is regional operations manager at Midwest for Employers Overload, a staffing agency, since January. She also still operates her small business practice: hospitality513 in the Cincinnati area. Matt Schmick `04 opened a kombucha brewery and tap room in Wabasha, Minn. Abigail Malcolm `07 and her husband, David, opened Zambaldi Beer in Green Bay. Jena Carlin `08 co-authored the book “Herbs for Flavor, Health and Natural Beauty.” 2010s Kristen Egger `10 is an account executive with Access Systems. 3

Rachel Plehal `16 is a registered nurse in a COVID-19 unit in the Twin Cities. Andrea Hulshult `18 was awarded Meritorious Paper Award from the EDSIGCON Conference 2019 for her paper, “Applying Agile across the IT curriculum,” that was published in the Information Systems Education Journal. Haley Wentz `18 was awarded White Lodging 2018 Rookie Manager of the Year in April. Arrivals Jack Kleisner `73 welcomed his first granddaughter, Indigo “Indie” Layla, on May 15, 2019. Andrew Busch `01 and Billy Lowe `05 welcomed their son, Evan Drake, in Jan. 2019. Alicia `09 and Chris Thalacker `09 welcomed twins, Olivia and Owen, on May 9, 2019. Jessica (Roethle) ‘11 and Adam Kidd `11 welcomed their second child, Brock Anthony, on Aug. 30, 2019. Isaac `11 and Brianna Twaddle Wipperfurth `13 welcomed their third child on Nov. 15. Engagements Michelle Jensen `06 got engaged in October. Lee Weis `09 and Michael Smith `11 got engaged in San Diego, Calif., in early 2019. De’Andre Jones `16 is engaged to his partner, Collin. Meghan Lueck `17 and Nathan Olinger `15 were engaged on Sept. 7, 2019. They met as first- year students, became friends in 2011 and went on their first date at the Acoustic Café in 2014. They are planning to be wed in October 2020. Megan Faustini `18 is engaged to Gregory Cops `18. 1 8

Bill Pfalzgraf `10 is senior learning consultant at Connexus Credit Union in Wausau. Ashley DeMuth `11 is CEO of Menomonie Area Chamber of Commerce. Mathiew Rae Fox `11 is general manager of HuHot Mongolian Grill in Kenosha. He is celebrating five years of marriage to his wife, Sarah, and they have a daughter and are expecting a son. Devon Block `13 is working for the original series Small Business Revolution, which airs on Hulu and PrimeVideo. Stephanie Wetzel ’13 is an interior designer at Performa in De Pere . Juliana Lucchesi `14 is mayor of Dunsmuir in northern California and vice-chair of the Siskiyou County Air Pollution Control District. Matthew Bills `14 is a supplier quality engineer at ENERPAC, a division of Actuant Corp. in Menomonee Falls. He also recertified as an American Society for Quality certified quality engineer and certified quality auditor in June 2019; he owns PGW Small Engine Repair/ Sales, LLC and is one of only 20 delegates for the 2020 Veterans Entrepreneurship Program at Oklahoma State University, Riata Center for Entrepreneurship, in Stillwater, Okla. Zachary Herman `15 graduated from Mitchell-Hamline School of Law and is pursuing work in patent law. De’Andre Jones `16 is assistant director for events and traditions

in the Center for Student Involvement in Seattle.






FA L L 2 0 2 0

Made with FlippingBook Publishing Software